//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

advent: prophetic readings 1

The prophet Isaiah | Cistine Chapel

The prophet Isaiah | Cistine Chapel

When you come to appear before me,
who asked this from your hand?
Trample my courts no more;

bringing offerings is futile;
incense is an abomination to me.

New moon and sabbath and calling of convocation―
I cannot endure solemn assemblies with iniquity.

Your new moons and your appointed festivals
my soul hates;

they have become a burden to me,
I am weary of bearing them.

When you stretch out your hands,
I will hide my eyes from you;

even though you make many prayers,
I will not listen;
your hands are full of blood.

Wash yourselves; make yourselves clean;
remove the evil of your doings
from before my eyes;

cease to do evil,
learn to do good;

seek justice,
rescue the oppressed,

defend the orphan,
plead for the widow.

|| Isaiah 1.12-17

About david b. clark

a husband and father || a student of philosophy, theology, history, literature, music, art, computer science

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

